top of page


The North Western International Rowing Association is a regional association of Canadian and American rowing clubs of the Upper Mid-Western United States and Western Canada.

The Association was founded in 1885 by the Winnipeg Rowing Club, the Minnesota Boat Club and the Saint Paul Lurline Rowing Club, and was originally named "The Minnesota and Winnipeg Rowing Association".

The Association was dormant from 1897 to 1905 during the Boer and American-Spanish Wars. In 1905 the Association was revived in as the "Mid-West-Canada Rowing Association" and the annual regatta was held in 1906 on Lake Minnetonka just West of Minneapolis, MN. In 1909 the North Western International Rowing Association name was adopted.

Home: About
Picture 15 DSC_5278.JPG

2021 marks the 117th year of the NWIRA Championship Regatta. The regatta is scheduled to take place August 13th-14th on Rabbit Lake in Kenora, Ontario.

media (12).jpg

The NWIRA comprises 10 member clubs:

  • Duluth Rowing Club

  • Kenora Rowing Club

  • Long Lake Rowing club

  • Minneapolis Rowing Club

  • Minnesota Boat Club

  • Regina Rowing Club

  • Rochester Rowing Club

  • Saskatoon Rowing Club

  • Thunder Bay Rowing Club

  • Twin Cities Youth Rowing

  • Winnipeg Rowing Club

DSC_2284 - Copy.JPG

NWIRA member clubs host the following events throughout the year:

  • Minneapolis Sprints

  • Tops & Bottoms

  • Thunder Bay Sprints

  • Duluth International Regatta

  • NWIRA Championships

  • Pike Island Challenge

  • Death Row

  • Head of the Miss

  • Head of the Red

  • NWIRA Curling Championships

Home: Events
bottom of page